Select Page

L’Chaim! Women Changing the World

An evening of celebration, community and giving

Featuring the only Israeli to be crowned Miss World, Linor Abargil


Thursday, November 1, 2018

The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
100 Carondelet Plaza
Clayton, MO 63105

L’Chaim! is sold out! We can’t wait to see you all on Thursday!


VIP Pre-Event Reception: Starting Strong with Linor

5:15-6:30 pm Exclusive opportunity to meet Linor Abargil; cocktails and appetizers will be served (space limited to 200 people)
Tickets: $180, includes a ticket to the Main Event ($50 tax deductible)


Main Event: L’Chaim! Women Changing the World

6:15 pm Cocktail Reception
7:00 pm Dinner and Program
Tickets: $65


Linor Abargil

The only Israeli to be crowned Miss World, Linor Abargil is an actress, model, attorney and global advocate in the fight against sexual violence.

Just seven weeks before being crowned Miss World in 1998, the then 18-year-old Abargil was abducted and sexually assaulted in Milan, Italy. For Linor, the crown had a purpose. She used this platform to advocate against sexual violence. In 2008, she launched and started speaking out about sexual violence. In 2013, Brave Miss World, a documentary film about Linor, the assault and subsequent activism was released, earning an Emmy nomination. In the film, Linor documents her journey and tells her story, without shame, as she reaches out to other women around the world, encouraging them to tell theirs.

Linor shares an inspiring message of how women are strong, can speak up and change the world!


Community Service

Help women shine by bringing new or gently used jewelry to benefit NCJW STL’s Resale Shop. Proceeds benefit NCJW’s community service and advocacy projects that improve the lives of women, children and families in our community including Project Renewal. This program is designed to empower women, including victims of sexual and domestic violence, by helping them gain new skills and build confidence to take control of their lives and achieve their goals.

On the night of the event, please bring your jewelry in individual resealable baggies.


  • L’Chaim chic attire.
  • All attendees will receive a custom and collectable Diane Katzman bracelet.
  • Dietary laws observed.
  • Complementary self and valet parking available.
  • Attendees will have the opportunity at the event to make gifts to Jewish Federation of St. Louis’ Unrestricted 2018 Annual Campaign.
  • For questions about registration, please contact Katie Sheldon at 314-442-3751 or Stacy Wagerman at 314-442-3730.


Sponsorship Opportunities (fully tax deductible)
  • $250 Friends of L’Chaim Sponsor – Your name or your company’s name on a table, on the video screens and a link included in the “Thank You” email to all attendees.
  • For further information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Development Associate Stacy Wagerman at or 314-442-3730.


Thank You to Our Generous Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor – $10,000
The Ritz-Carlton St. Louis
Diane Katzman Design

Gold Sponsor – $5,000
Pam Lester

Silver Sponsor – $1,800
US Bank
Patty Croughan and Sheila Greenbaum
Delmar Gardens Family
Madeleine Elkins and Harvey Wallace
On the Run
Betsy Rubenstein and Janie Roodman Weiss
Marmi Shoes
Nancy Green and Sherry Wolff
The Gatesworth
Sheri Schechter Memorial Fund

Bronze Sponsor – $1,000
Barnes-Jewish Hospital
Berger Memorial Chapel
Center for Hearing and Balance Disorder
Debbie and Mike Lefton
Town and Country Veterinary Hospital
St. Louis Jewish Light
Consultants in Women’s Healthcare, Inc.



Main Event Co-Chairs
Janie Roodman Weiss, Betsy Rubenstein, Lori Sheinbein and MaryAnne Smyly Sabin

VIP Pre-Event Co-Chairs
Abby Goldstein and Karen Smoller

Women’s Philanthropy
Bonnie Solomon, Chair
Amy Bender-Levy, Vice Chair, Development

Event Committee
Rachel W. Andreasson, Laurie Badler, Fran Balk, Lisa Graivier Barnes, Jan Baron, Jeanie Bassman, Deborah Becker, Faith Berger, Stephanie Berk, Barbara Bindler, Patty Bloom, Susan R. Bosse, Debbi Braunstein, Lauren Brenner, Marcia Brockman, Sara Brodsky, Liz Buchman, Amy Cantor, Arlene Caplan, Toby Chod, Patricia F. Croughan, Dorit Daphna-Iken, Bonnie Davis, Robyn DeNorscia, Beth Deutsch, Jennifer Deutsch, Abby Durlester, Madeleine Elkins, Laura Ellen, Stacy Erker, Ellen S. Fagin, Teryn Farbstein, Amy Feder, Laura Fields, Mimi Fiszel, Julie Flom, Angela Flotken, Cynthia Frank, Leah Frankel, Judith Frankiel, Kristin Friedman, Helene Frischer, Carolyn Furfine, Lauren Gelber, Wendy S. Gellman, Michelle Gerchen, Ruth Gerchen, Janis Goldstein, Traci L. Goldstein, Sharon Gorman, Naomi Green, Shari Gross, Stephanie L. Gross, Bethe Growe, Abby Hahn, Amy Herman, Judith Isaacs, Judy L. Schwartz Jaffe, Rachel Weiss Kalina, Jodi Kaplan, Susan Kemppainen, Stephanie Kolker, Debbie Kootman, Melissa Korenblat-Hanin, Shira Kraft, Elise Krug, Amy Lampert, Lisa Lederer, Debbie K. Lefton, Jacqueline U. Levey, Galit Lev-Harir, Marla Levinson, Sarah Levinson, April S. Levison, Marcia E. Levy, Lisa Litvag, Simcha Lourie, Christine A. Lyss, Mia Mandel, Julia Manewith, Sylvia Manewith, Jill C. Mannis, Shelley Marglous, Jean Margul, Abbi Marks, Carolyn Morris, Galia Movitz, Bonnie Myers, Becca Near, Rori Picker Neiss, Haley Beth Organ, Simone Picker, Anna Poger, Lynne Prywitch, Sharon Remis, Brigitte Rosenberg, Judy Rosenthal, Rosalind Rothman, Chanala Rubenfeld, Andrea Rubin, Barbara Rubin, Jane Tzinberg Rubin, Michelle Rubin, Sarah W. Salky, Ellie Samson, Debra A. Sartori, Andrea Schankman, Randi Schenberg, Randee Schmittdiel, Dana Schwartz, Alison Seidler, Heidi Seigel, Sheri Sherman, Sherry Shuman, Heather Silverman, Stacy Singer, Tracey Singer, Victoria Singer, Stacy R. Smart, Jill Solomon, Jennifer Growe Soshnik, Mindy Sosnoff, Ellen Soule, Amy Stone, Karen Tabak, Lisa Tennenbaum, Pam Toder, Susie Turkin, Mimi Wachsman, Elizabeth Wallace, Stacey Wallach, Sherry Wolff, Linda Yatkeman, Julie Yawitz

Katie Sheldon, Resource Assistant
Stacy Wagerman, Development Associate
Marianne Chervitz, Development Associate
Beth Feldman, Development Associate
Julie Gibbs, Director of Major Gifts & Affinity Groups
Michael Oberlander, Chief Philanthropy Officer

Tim Stern, Campaign Chair

Jewish Federation of St. Louis
Gerald P. Greiman, Board Chair
Andrew Rehfeld, President & CEO