Goldstein Award recognizes professional excellence, Grosberg Award recognizes volunteer leaders younger than 45.

Jewish Federation of St. Louis is seeking nominations for two annual awards — one honoring professionals working for a Jewish community organization and the other honoring volunteer leaders in the Jewish community who are age 45 or younger.

2017 Fred A. Goldstein Professional Excellence Award

This award recognizes outstanding professional leadership. Nominees must be employed by a St. Louis Jewish organization and currently working in a direct service, professional or managerial role. Nominations should reflect individuals who excel in their field, have a significant track record over time, have introduced important innovations, and are perceived as role models by other professionals and volunteers. The award is intended to honor continued excellence and is not intended as a reward for longevity or as a thank you for professionals who are retiring, relocating or leaving the field. Last year’s honoree was Jean Cavender. Past recipients currently working in the local Jewish community include Joan Denison, Karen Aroesty, Robert A. Cohn, Stephen Cohen, Marci Mayer Eisen, Nikki Goldstein, Rabbi Michael Rovinsky, Lori Wishne, Daniel Reich, Rabbi Hyim Shafner, Maxine Weil and Evelyn Young.

2017 David N. and Roselin Grosberg Young Leadership Award

This award recognizes volunteer leaders in the Jewish community who are 45 years and younger. Nominees demonstrate commitment to the Jewish Federation of St. Louis’ mission through volunteer leadership and participation in the Annual Campaign. Qualifications can also include board level involvement in other Jewish community organizations and demonstrated excellence through leadership commitments, inspiring others, innovative ideas, positive spirit and a collaborative style. Winners receive a stipend to fund leadership training. Angela Flotken and Burt Garland received the prestigious award last year. Other recent honorees include Andrea Newstead, Steve Malter Amy Bender Levy, Matthew Litwack, Jeff Sparks Rob Bertman and Ruth Raskas.

Both awards will be presented at Jewish Federation of St. Louis’ Annual Meeting on September 7, 2017. The deadline for nominations is Monday, July 10. Nominations (in the form of letters of recommendation) are invited from the entire Jewish community. Submit letters of recommendation to Marci Mayer Eisen, Director of the Millstone Institute, 12 Millstone Campus Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146 or email For more information, call 314-442-3810.