Select Page

JProStl is a professional association that provides training, resources and networking opportunities for staff at 50 not-for-profit Jewish organizations throughout St. Louis. 

Honorees have been announced for the Annual JProStl Recognition Luncheon which will take place on Thursday, January 28, 2016 from 11:30 am – 1:30 pm at the JCC Staenberg Family JCC.  The theme of the program is Honoring Professionals-Growing Community. Recipients were chosen by a committee of  JProStl leadership and former honorees representing colleagues from across the community.

Michael Oberlander has been chosen as the recipient of the first JProStl Partnership award, recognizing a board leader who best exemplifies the lay–staff relationship through commitments to the Jewish community and St. Louis region, ethical leadership, Jewish values and acts of kindness. Michael is currently Vice Chair of Jewish Federation of St. Louis and Board Chair of the Repertory Theater of St. Louis. Michael is a past president of Hillel at Washington University St. Louis and has served on the boards of the JCC, Young Israel Congregation and H.F. Epstein Hebrew Academy. Michael has been previously recognized with the JCC Richard Weiss Leadership Award, Esther Leah Ritz JCC Next Generation Award and Jewish Federation of St. Louis’ Grosberg Young Leadership Award.

JProStl annually recognizes professionals from throughout the community in eight categories.  This year’s honorees are Ellen Alper, Executive Director of NCJW – St. Louis Section (National Council of Jewish Women)  who will receive the Visionary Award and Shiffy Landa, Judaic Studies Coordinator and Teacher at H.F. Epstein Hebrew Academy, who will be honored with the Career Achievment Award.

Rabbi Mordecai and Tzipporah Yaroslawitz will receive the Jewish Educator award.  Together, they lead Kulanu Yachad, and Tzipporah is a teacher at Torah Prep School. Gail Wechsler, Director of Domestic Issues and Social Justice at JCRC (Jewish Community Relations Council) will receive the Pillar Award and Jane Weinhaus, Teacher at Deutsch Early Childhood at Temple Israel will receive the Chesed/Kindness Award.  JCC professionals Matt Wever, Senior Director of Facilities, will be honored with the Mentor Award and BBYO Program Director, Erica Morris, will receive the Emerging Leader Award.  The Dedication award goes to Tim Voshen, Facilities Manager at the Crown Center for Senior Living.

Co-chairs of the luncheon are Marianne Chervitz of the JCC and Jayne Langsam of Jewish Federation of St. Louis.  Partnership Co-Chairs are Craig Neuman of the JCC and Lori Goldberg of JF&CS. JProStl Peer Awards Co-Chairs are Mindi Mintz of Torah Prep School and H. Lee Rosenberg of United Hebrew Congregation. Rabbi Levi Landa of Chabad is JProStl President and Julie Gibbs of Jewish Federation of St. Louis is JProStl Special Events Chair.

The luncheon is $25 for guests and free of charge for staff who work at least 15 hours per week annually at a Jewish organization.  All JProStl programs are made possible by the Lubin-Green Foundation, a supporting foundation of Jewish Federation of St. Louis.  JProStl is affiliated with the Millstone Institute, an initiative of Jewish Federation of St. Louis and affiliated nationally with the JPro Network. To register and to donate to professional development in honor of the recipients, go to For information, contact Marci Mayer Eisen at 314-442-3810 or